Units of Data storage


Computer interprets machine language that is, binary form(series of 1’s and 0’s) which is called binary form. Each digit, character or any other special character is converted into 1’s and 0’s for manipulation.

For example, Digit ‘q’ represents ‘10001’ in binary character ‘A’ has ‘65’ as its ASCII value which can be converted into binary form for manipulation in the memory.


A bit is called binary digit which can be either be 0 (Low) or 1 ( high) as interpreted by machine.


It is a combination of 8 bits.

1 byte = 8 bits

1 Byte


1 Kilobytes =103 bytes


1 Megabyte = 106 bytes or 1MB = 106B


‘Giga’ stands for ‘10’ so 1Gigabyte is equivalent to 1010 bytes

1 GB = 1010 bytes

Difference between notation of ‘bit’ and ‘byte’

A bit is represented by small ‘b’ whereas byte is represented by capital ‘B’

1 Kb means 1 kilobits whereas 1 KB means  1kilobytes